WestSide High School teacher nominated for LifeChanger Award


WENATCHEE- Jennifer Devereaux, English teacher at WestSide High School, has been nominated for the 2017/2018 LifeChanger of the Year award. Sponsored by the National Life Group Foundation, the award recognizes K-12 educators who are making a difference in the lives of students through excellence, positive influence and leadership.

Ms. Devereaux was nominated by WestSide principal Kory Kalary. “As soon as I saw what the Life Changer award was all about, it just had Jennifer’s name written all over it,” said Principal Kalahar. “She is such a compassionate, caring educator. She goes to the next level with every single student.”

“It’s really an honor,” says Ms. Devereaux. “I think all of the teachers here at WestSide who are deserving of something like this [award].

Kalahar’s nomination highlighted Jennifer’s work in understanding the state academic standards and assessments, and empowering students with the understanding they need to meet high expectations. “The school’s assessment scores and completion rates are steadily moving in the right direction because of Ms. Devereaux,” he wrote.

Jennifer is no stranger to professional honors. Last spring she was awarded the 2017 Chelan County Excellence Award in teaching. She is currently working toward her National Boards. The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards program is recognized as the “gold standard” in teacher certification.

“I just have a love for these kids,” Jennifer said when asked the secret of her success. “I appreciate the fact that at WestSide we can adapt and change what we do on a daily basis or from even class period to class period to meet the needs of our students. We have a very small teacher to student ratio, and so we’re able to break things down in a different way. It’s a great place to be, and I just enjoy helping kids.”

“She makes us want to be better educators by watching her,” says Kalahar. “She’s just passionate and always enthusiast.”

LifeChanger finalists and winners receive cash prizes to be shared with their school district of up to $10,000.