Recount in Waterville mayor race doesn’t change results

waterville mayor

The results of the Aug. 6 primary race for Waterville mayor are finally official.

After a manual recount, Loyd Smith retained his one-vote lead for second place and will move on to the general election.

Jill Daling-Thompson was the top vote-getter but only one vote separated Smith and Charles Driver for the second slot, forcing the automatic recount.

Wednesday’s recount reaffirmed that Smith received 124 votes, to 123 votes for Driver.

Waterville voters are electing a new mayor for the first time in two decades after the retirement of Royal Devaney.